Support

Support is an amazing thing.  It comes in so many different forms, and for so many different reasons.  My family supports me, because they want me to be safe and happy.  My parents let me live in their home, are helping me get ready for my baby, are giving me the ability to pay off bills.  My friends are supporting me by being there when I need to vent, reminding me of why I’m doing what I’m doing when I start to doubt myself, and helping me to remember the person that I was before all of this.  My co-workers have been supportive because they have let me take time off when I need to deal with something, encouraged me to seek out counseling, given me household items to start over with, bought me maternity clothes, and just been there when I’m having a particularly bad day.  My boyfriend has been supportive in every way imaginable.  He’s been a shoulder to cry on, helped me remember what a “normal” relationship is, doesn’t get upset when I question him because I’m afraid, and wants to be there for both me and the baby. 

All of these people in my life have helped me to realize that I have always had these supports.  All I ever had to do was open my eyes wide enough to see them, and not be too afraid or ashamed to make use of them.  I ignored the love and support that these people had to offer me for so long because I truly believed that I was going to be looked down upon because of the things that I was enduring.

I’m so thankful for all that I have.  All that I have always had.  I couldn’t do this without them.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

