Purple October

 

October is Domestic Violence Awareness month.  Undoubtedly, we’ll see some slightly increased media attention, but other than that, not much will change.  I know that this issue competes for space with Breast Cancer Awareness and Hispanic Heritage, both of which are very important, but I feel like we need to step it up a bit.

Actually, the only thing on TV that I’ve seen regarding DV has been an ad for a Lifetime Movie on the subject. (Note – I don’t watch all that much TV.)  I’ll admit that I love a good day parked in front of LMN, but this is hardly enough to increase awareness, or better yet, make real strides forward in treating DV with the attention that it so desperately needs.

For me, this is not the only time that I will think about DV.  It permeates my life.  It is now a part of who I am.  But I accept that.  And I take every opportunity that I can to talk to people about DV and it’s effects.  To me, this is not just a war that should be waged in October.  It’s something that I fight every day.

What can YOU do?  Educate.  Believe.  Advocate.  And be the change you wish to see in the world.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Purple October

  1. You are so right! You can educate and advocate. Some listen but most don’t! Just do your best– all you CAN do!

  2. Galit Breen says:

    beautiful, poignant IMPORTANT post. those last words gave me chills. thank you for writing and for sharing *your* voice!

Leave a Reply

